X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Making Chocolate "cello"

I have been making my own Limoncello for many years but I could never find a good recipe for making the chocolate version or the cream version. I tried making the chocolate version once but it just didn't make the cut. Does anyone have a good recipe for making it? There is a little factory down in Minori that makes one with grappa and also pepperoncini. They were excellent.
    Zidanie, any help would be greatly appreciated. or anyone else.
    Grazie!

Okay, someone has to know.

Comment

I've never heard of the chocolate "cello" but if it is cream based the procedure is probably close to making home-made kahlua, irish-cream or my favorite, rum cream.

...they don't come out exactly right but it is close enough.

I've been infusing liquors for years now but I don't make lemoncello because I can't get lemons I feel are good enough. I stick to "schnaaps" made from blueberry, blackberry or walnuts (aka siberian medicine).

Just thinking aloud: what if you infused vodka/grappa/grain spirits with coco beans, or even better - roasted coco nibs? The texture might be off, but I bet it would have a rich coco flavor.

Comment

When you go back to Italy you must try it, it's really great! I like it over vanilla ice cream I tried making it with melted chocolate bars and mixing in the infused alcohol but I couldn't get the right consistency. I have also made kahlua but not the same.
        I still make limoncello but I am very selective about the lemons I get. I have recently made mandarino cello, it's pretty good. Have you ever tried to make it?

Comment

Fun With Booze

My next trip to Italy, I have a lot of regional liquors to try- life is tough

I've never made anything with tangerines or mandarin oranges, but with all the essential oils in the skin it must come out excellent.